friends · life

Warm hugs

Ah, the smell of cinnamon, the snugness of sweaters, and the overly priced sales on Christmas decorations. This can only mean one thing: winter is finally here. Winter is a time for warm hugs and hot chocolate, good books and toasty fires. This is when you would usually pack away all your crop-tops and jean shorts, and suddenly break out into over-sized sweaters, jeans without holes, lace up boots with fur, and inevitably, ‎scarves. I have a very strong love/hate relationship with these beautiful thermal accessories. On the one hand, they keep you warm, and keep your neck from becoming stiff with frost bite and/or immobile. Nevertheless, they are extreme choking hazards. Now, I know for the average person this might not seem very life threatening, and maybe it isn’t. But when I have to wear a scarf, or anything else around my neck for that matter, I feel like it is suffocating me. I can’t be the only one who absolutely hated it when their mother forced their head through one of those ghastly colorful turtleneck sweaters! Ah, well now that I actually dress myself, I am able to pick out my own outfits for the day, and though I still hate anything tight around my neck, I have at least five scarves in my closet. What can I say, I’m like hypocritical to myself. <~~ (I am fairly certain I just made that up.) But besides the choking neck wear, and the lifelessness in my hands, I still love the winter time. I always feel snug as a bug in a rug with my family and friends around no matter how cold it may be. So, I guess I’ll take this opportunity to say a shout-out to all those people who are always there for me and I love so very much! Love you guys, thanks for making all the past winter holidays so much fun! This year, however, is a bit different. I won’t be able to be with everyone since we all live in different places around the US, but you can be sure that they will all be in my heart, melting away the frozen layer covering it up. So, in honor of my friends and family, here are some precious memories captures with a camera over the past few years.

Warm hugs,
Selenaballerina♣
One thought on “Warm hugs

Leave a Reply

